Antihistaminics in pediatric practice

Histamine  influence  immunoregulation  of  the  acute  and chronic  inflammatory  response  through  4  different  types of  receptors,  called  H1,  H2,  H3,  and  H4. Drugs  classified  in the  first  generation  of  antihistamines  (“classical” antihistamines) are classified as first generation, include chlorpheniramine, diphenhydramine, promethazine, and hydroxyzine. They are sedating and necessitate multiple daily doses because of relatively short half-lives.

The second generation antihistaminincs are relatively nonsedating, include Loratadine, Cetirizine,  Fexofenadine(Allegra) etc. These have a poor penetration of the blood brain barrier and  thereby less likely to be sedating than first generation  drugs with longer half-lives, permitting once- or twice-daily dosing.

Click Here for Doses of commonly used anti-histaminics.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.